Well I agree with all of you guys.
There is no rule that says the runner has to go directly to 2nd base from first or to 3rd from 2nd. Otherwise we would be calling baseline infractions for every player that rounds the bag to wide. The losing team was grasping at straws out of the baseline, abandonment. All of the options they were choosing were options that did not change the run scoring before the last out.
Anyway, this play was talked about for the whole weekend. Anyone that asked me about it was told. I didnt see the play, but from what I heard the rule was applied correctly. The only option the defense had was to get the force at 2nd and then 1st.
The ruling was upheld by the UIC of the tourney. Needless to say, the ump making that call was under the gun for every game from there out. I feel bad for the guy, since he is a friend of mine. He got verbally berated over and over again for making the correct call.
|