Chester - my response from the other forum where you posted:
NFHS rule: 7-2 ART. 1: A strike is charged to the batter when:
a. a pitched ball enters any part of the strike zone in flight and is not struck at.
EFFECT: Any pitch that touches the plate shall be called a ball if the batter does not strike at it. (Page 57 / 2006 NFHS rules book)
Little League rules. (2.00 Definition of Terms)
A STRIKE is a legal pitch which meets any of these conditions -
(b) Is not struck at, if any part of the ball passes through any part of the strike zone (page 51 / LL rules book)
I always understood that in FP softball if the pitch hits the plate (and batter does not swing) it cannot be called a strike because it did not "pass through" the strike zone.
Hope this helps
[ June 11, 2006, 09:37 PM: Message edited by: U of M Sam ]
--------------------
Sam