View Single Post
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 08, 2006, 01:04am
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
A player on the court can be inbounds or out-of-bounds and still be on the court.
I'm not sure that this is a true statement for NFHS rules. I'm not saying that it is untrue either. I just don't know.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
The rule you quote above is unambiguous. Nevada's relating it to the guarding rule is not relevant...confusing but not relavant. (This is what happens when someone decides to clarify a rule by redefining a term that was previously used consistently without adjusting other uses of that term).
a. Yes 9-2-2 is very clear and makes a good case for your first sentence being true.
b. My looking at 4-23 is more important than you might think though. See the end of this post.
c. I agree with you that the NFHS messed up the term in its attempt to clarify the LGP rule. "On the court" and "on the playing court" are both now unclear. Does the former include both inbounds AND out of bounds areas used by the players to play the game while the latter means only the inbounds area? Possible, but again I can't say for sure. I wish I could, but I am not an authoritative source.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
The violation is NOT a throwin violation for a player to touch the throwin pass while OOB. It is a violation on the player who touches the ball.
No problem here. Due to the clarity of the throw-in provisions we agree on who is committing the violation on this play. What we don't know for sure is whether or not the clock should be started on the touch by the violating player.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
There is a "minor" difference in the terms. The LGP rule uses "playing court" as opposed to just "court".
Ok, so are you contending that these terms mean what I wrote in part c above?
If so, then would you say that the clock should be started by the timer on the touch and then quickly stopped again when (and if) the official calls the violation? Why? Because the timing rule that is relevant here uses the words "on the court" not "playing court."

5-9-4 . . . If play is resumed by a throw-in, the clock shall be started when the ball touches, or is touched by, a player on the court after it is released by the thrower.

I am now rethinking my earlier agreement with Tony that the clock should not have started on this play. I'm now thinking that a quick start and stop might be the correct procedure.
Reply With Quote