View Single Post
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 06, 2006, 11:38pm
Dakota Dakota is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
WMB, my friend, you are making this way too complicated.

On the situation you presented, you don't call interference any more than you call OUT on a batted ball that goes directly to the catcher's equipment and is caught by another fielder - even though for any other batted ball rebounding off of any other fielder's equipment to be caught by another fielder would be a catch. We don't call this a catch and an out because by definition, it is a foul ball.

We do not have to sweat the definition of a play here because the rule gives the exact scenario... a fielder is attempting to field a batted ball while the batted ball is over foul territory and is interfered with by a runner.

The rule tells us what the fielder is doing. It tells us what the runner did. It defines the result. FOUL BALL.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote