View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 06, 2006, 08:51am
shickenbottom shickenbottom is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Western Washington
Posts: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by TussAgee11
3.05 (OBR) says "the pticher named in the batting order handed the umpire-in-chief, as provieded by rules 4.01 (a) and 4.01 (b) (that just talks about processes for exchanging lineups durning groundrules), shall pitch to the first batter or any substitute batter until such batter is put out or reaches first base, unless the pitcher sustains injury or illness which, in the judgement of the umpire-in-chief- incapacitates him from pitching.

If I read this correctly, that means that the home team pitcher must bat in the top of the 1st if neccessary? But any other player can be pinch-hit for?
Tuss, this has nothing to do with whether the pitcher is forced to bat or not. It is refering that the pitcher named on the batting order is required to pitch to the 1st batter. Lets say, that the visiting team goes ahead by 6 runs in the top of the 1st inning, the visiting coach, wanting to save his best pitcher wants to put a different pitcher in to pitch. He can't do this unless in the judgement of the umpire he can't pitch to the 1st batter.
Reply With Quote