Thread: Weekly Question
View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 05, 2006, 02:19pm
Bob M. Bob M. is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrMooreReferee
Excellent point LJudge.

So, if the official rules that nobody with an eligible number was close by, do we then have a multiple foul?
REPLY This is a great question that I really don't think the Fed has addressed completely. Personally, I'd say "no," you don't have a multiple foul. If you have no eligible in the area, then the pass is indeed illegal. But...since Federation rules say that eligibility only applies to legal forward passes (7-5-6), illegal touching is moot based upon the wording of the illegal touching rule. One might argue that this is a chicken-and-egg argument, and they'd be right!
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote