View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 01, 2006, 06:59pm
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by GregAlan
Hello.

Working a YMCA 7th and 8th grade girls' game last night. At one point, under the basket, A1 goes on her knees on a rebound, grabs the ball, looks for a teammate to pass to, and throws the ball to A2, who proceeds to head down court. There is no call either by myself or my partner.

The coach of the B Team yells out, "traveling, traveling". Neither referee reacts to this. He won't let it go and yells for the next minute, at least, how we blew the call, that was traveling, and that we should call the game fairly, and so forth.

Previously in the game, in front of his bench, one of his players, B1, went down on the floor for the ball, and then got up with the ball to start dribbling. We called traveling on that. He yelled at us then that it wasn't traveling. I told him it was if she gets up from her knees to her feet.

What is the specific rule on being on the floor and when is it traveling. The way that I call it, is if the person's momentum takes them to the floor, or they go onto the floor after the ball, they can look for a teammate to get the ball to, and that's not a travel, but if they move around to avoid opposing players, that's a travel. Also, if they go from being on the floor to a knee, that's a travel, or they go from being on one knee, to their feet, that's a travel.

Can you shed some light on this, considering high school rules.

Thanks.

G
First, the correct penalty for the coach's behavior is 2 shots and the ball at the division line for the opponent. You MUST issue a technical foul to him when he acts like this. Otherwise, you are failing to control the game or be helpful to youth sports.

Now for the NFHS traveling rule: (I put the part that matters most to you in red.)


Rule 4, SECTION 44 TRAVELING
Traveling (running with the ball) is moving a foot or feet in any direction in excess of prescribed limits while holding the ball. The limits on foot movements are as follows:
ART. 1 . . . A player who catches the ball with both feet on the floor, may pivot, using either foot. When one foot is lifted, the other is the pivot foot.
ART. 2 . . . A player, who catches the ball while moving or dribbling, may stop, and establish a pivot foot as follows:
a. If both feet are off the floor and the player lands:
1. Simultaneously on both feet, either foot may be the pivot.
2. On one foot followed by the other, the first foot to touch is the pivot.
3. On one foot, the player may jump off that foot and simultaneously land on both. Neither foot can be a pivot in this case.
b. If one foot is on the floor:
1. It is the pivot when the other foot touches in a step.
2. The player may jump off that foot and simultaneously land on both. Neither foot can be a pivot in this case.
ART. 3 . . . After coming to a stop and establishing a pivot foot:
a. The pivot foot may be lifted, but not returned to the floor, before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal.
b. If the player jumps, neither foot may be returned to the floor before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal.
c. The pivot foot may not be lifted before the ball is released, to start a dribble.
ART. 4 . . . After coming to a stop when neither foot can be a pivot:
a. One or both feet may be lifted, but may not be returned to the floor before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal.
b. Neither foot may be lifted before the ball is released, to start a dribble.
ART. 5 . . . A player holding the ball:
a. May not touch the floor with a knee or any other part of the body other than hand or foot.
b. After gaining control while on the floor and touching with other than hand or foot, may not attempt to get up or stand.



And a few casebook plays to help you enforce this rule correctly:

4.44.5 SITUATION A: Is it traveling if A1 falls to the floor: (a) while holding the ball; or (b) after being airborne to catch a pass or control a rebound? RULING: Yes in both (a) and (b).
4.44.5 SITUATION B: A1 dives for a loose ball and slides after gaining control. A1 is in a position either on his/her back or stomach. What can A1 do without violating? RULING: A1 may pass, shoot, start a dribble or call a time-out. Once A1 has the ball and is no longer sliding, he/she may not roll over. If flat on his/her back, A1 may sit up without violating. Any attempt to get to the feet is traveling unless A1 is dribbling. It is also traveling if A1 puts the ball on the floor, then rises and is first to touch the ball. (4-44-5b)
4.44.5 SITUATION C: A1 is dribbling when he/she: (a) drops to a position with a knee on the floor and then ends the dribble; or (b) drops one knee to the floor and then stands again while continuing the dribble. RULING: The action in both (a) and (b) is legal. However, if A1 touches a knee to the floor while holding the ball, it would be traveling as A1 has touched the floor with something other than a hand or foot.
4.44.5 SITUATION D: A1 secures possession of the ball with one knee in contact with the floor. May A1 assume a standing position without committing a traveling violation? RULING: It depends on what A1 does. If A1 attempts to stand up while holding the ball, a traveling violation occurs. However, if A1 starts a dribble and then rises, no violation has occurred. Also, A1 could pass, try for goal or call a time-out from that position.
Reply With Quote