Quote:
Originally Posted by BigGref
I'm pretty sure that momentum exception is 5 yards, if you catch at 7 yd line the feeling is that you should be able to collect yourself and start a new charge. And the rule is the same for NFL, I remember seeing an "ask the NFL referee" Q & A thing and this situation came up and was answered the Same as NFHS
|
There is no yardage exception in the NFL like there is in NCAA/NFHS. You could have momentum starting at the 20 yard line if the official deems it is truly his momentum that carries him into the EZ!! The 5 yard line pertains to a grounded punt being carried into the EZ by a member of the kicking team. That is, if K possesses a scrimmage kick inside the 5 yard line and carries it into the EZ, it is a touchback,
provided he is possessing the ball at the moment he crosses the GL Contrast this with NCAA, where the ball is dead upon possession and placed at that first touch spot. (Where possessed) Off topic, I realize!!