SA, it has to be intentional and interfere with the play. The batter hit a triple, so his thowing the bat had no bearing on the play. Had he thown the bat intentionally at the catcher as he was fielding a bunt, for example, and interfered with his attempt to field a batted ball, it would be interference, and the BR would be called out. But not on a ball hit to the outfield, unless the BR somehow intentionally threw the bat 170 feet or so, and hit the outfielder as he was trying to field the ball.
Do you see the difference? Even if the umpire determined that it was intentional, it would not be called interference, only malicious contact, and would be ejected after the play. A pinch runner would take his place at 3rd base. No out would result. Comprende senor?
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
|