official blunder
During a youth leagues game last weekend I (as a fan) observed an ugly situation develope due to an umpire making a call that I believe should have been appealed first. Bases loaded 2 outs, B4 hits to the gap, R1, R2, R3 all score. Umpire claimed R1 did not touch plate and immediately called him out negating his run as well as other 2 runs...inning over. Coach goes ballistic arguing he can't make that call with out an appeal from defensive coach. I believe this coach is correct, what does the official rule state?
|