Quote:
Originally Posted by Sal Giaco
Now that's enough evidence for me! I stand corrected. By the way Tim, how does J/R rule on interference by the B/R when he just unintentionally kicks a pitched ball that deflects off the catcher? I'd be curious to see the rule reference since I am out of town on business and cannot look it up. Call me if you want: 586-530-6795. Thanks again for your help.
|
Here is what the J/R says on your play, Sal.
NOTE: Apart from being outside the 45-foot lane, a Batter-Runner can only interfere on a thrown ball if his action is intentional and hinders a fielder. Similarly, a strike three where a batter becomes a runner is treated as a thrown ball situation, and such Batter-Runner can only interfere subject to the dictates of Section II, Subsection B, of this chapter.
Examples:
1. R1, two outs, A strike three is blocked (not caught) by the catcher, and the batter-runner, starting his advance to first, kicks the ball, or contacts the catcher who is trying to field the ball: neither case is interference, but if either hindrance was an intentional action, disregarding an advance, there is interference.
Tim.