View Single Post
Old Mon May 15, 2006, 07:43pm
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by tiger49
3apples what league was this in most of the coaches I have in Ontario walk out as slow as posible to their pitcher barely asking for time as they cross the baseline.

Also if the comment wasn't said I a manner that was clearly meant to bring a reaction I probably wouldn't have said a thing about it. Often I will hear a similar comment as a coach turns away from the plate ie: 3rd base coach saying it while turning away towards left field. That is part of a rat being a rat, and often the only thing a ejection will do in that situation is to escalate things to a level you don't want to go. I have seen many umpires very good ones at that bait a coach into an ejection. Also I have seen many good coaches bait good umpires into a weak ejection to fire up a team.

Well it was that pseudo PBLO league u16, and that is part of the issue, this is my first year doing these guys. Now I have done some PBLO u18's, but never had a coach to this level of shear arrogance. But still, at least they look towards you and raise a hand, this guy just strolled. But It was never a real issue for me until the Argue, and he screamed time 3-4 times while a base runner was going to third, D had no chance on him, but it was his base runner. I normally do OBA where I have only coaches out on day passes and they call time for everything, equally as annoying. Also this coach said it while stomping down the line 2-3 steps looking at and pointing at the umpire. It was said like an order, not a flaberghasted statement. I'm not sure what I would have done, but neither were good strike in my book, that allows for some bickering in itself.