Quote:
With regard to Question #2: The basket does not count. A1's throwing the ball at Team B's basket is not an attempt (Unless the game is being played under FIBA rules and I am not going to go into the definition right now; while I know the definition I will let one of our members from overseas or Canada explain.) B1's foul is a common foul and causes the ball to become dead immediately.
|
Same for FIBA rules (15.1, 10.3), but with an exception:
Official FIBA Interpretations 2004:
The Art. 9 clarifies which basket a team is to defend and which basket it is to attack. If by confusion any period begins with
both teams attacking/defending the wrong baskets, the situation shall be corrected as soon as it is discovered, without placing either team at a disadvantage. Any points scored, time used, fouls charged, etc. before the stopping of the game remain valid.
Example 1:
After the start of a period, the officials realise that both teams are playing in the wrong direction.
Interpretation:
The game shall be stopped as soon as possible and without placing either team at a disadvantage. Teams shall exchange baskets. The game shall be resumed from the mirror-opposite place nearest to where the game was stopped.
Example 2:
At the beginning of a period, team A is attacking/defending the correct basket when B4 by loss of orientation dribbles to the incorrect basket and scores a field goal.
Interpretation:
The two points shall be awarded to the captain of team A.
Therefore, we would count the basket and give a FT on the opposite side.
Note that this is only valid if the action takes place immediatly after the beginning of the 3rd period, and with both teams attacking/defending the wrong basket. In any other situation, the throw would not be considered an attempt and the ball would become dead immediately.