View Single Post
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 10, 2006, 08:23pm
NFump NFump is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 355
Send a message via AIM to NFump
[quote=cbfoulds]
Quote:
Originally Posted by orioles35
I don't know what the exact rule is, but it reads something like "once a runner has legally obtained a base, he cannot retreat to a prior base after the play has ended" (leaving the door open for a runner to retouch DURING a play, if necessary).
QUOTE]Godd reason why you "don't know what the exact rule is ...":
Ain't no such rule in baseball for a sitch where the ball is live.

IF THE BALL BECOMES DEAD after a runner acquires a base, a runner cannot return to retouch a base that was missed or left early [unless required to return by a "runners return .." type of penalty /award].
7.01 casebook comment. If a runner legally acquires title to a base, and the pitcher assumes his pitching position the runner may not return to a previously occupied base.
__________________
Just where are those dang keys?!
Reply With Quote