View Single Post
  #36 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 10, 2006, 10:05am
rodan55 rodan55 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwest
However, 8-7-J-4 says "any defensive player" this includes the one who booted the ball. I realize the case play indicates another fielder, however, the case book doesn't provide examples of all possible plays. I don't believe ASA makes a distinction. At least it doesn't in the wording of rule 8-7-J-4. Was this a national clinic or a local one? If this is what ASA wants, then I'll change my position. However, based on the wording of rule 8-7-J-4 I see no difference between the fielder who booted the ball and another fielder. I can't see penalizing the offense for a defensive mistake unless the offense intentionally interfered.

The problem is we have two rules that conflict with each other and the rulebook does not clearly delineate which one takes precedence.
National staff.

Response from Dave Epperson in Kansas,

Yes, as long as any defensive player has the possibility of getting an out.
Yes, the runner is responsible for not interfering, to and include running out of the baseline to avoid contact.
__________________
Joe Herzer
Dallas, TX DSUA

Last edited by rodan55; Wed May 10, 2006 at 02:02pm.
Reply With Quote