Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Not one of your clearer answers, Bob. I understand that you are pointing out that A1 may not have been in control of the ball yet, but a bat can certainly be considered a dribble, if the official deems it was a controlled movement.
4-15-1 . . . A dribble is ball movement caused by a player in control who bats (intentionally strikes the ball with the hand(s)) or pushes the ball to the floor once or several times.
4-15-3 . . . The dribble may be started by pushing, throwing or batting the ball to the floor before the pivot foot is lifted.
Of course, you have the following rules support on your side:
4-15-4 NOTE 2: A player is not dribbling while slapping the ball during a jump, when a pass rebounds from his/her hand, when he/she fumbles, or when he/she bats a rebound or pass away from other players who are attempting to get it. The player is not in control under these conditions.
So what is the difference between a bat and a slap? 
|
I'm not sure a dribbler can slap the ball during a jump:
ART. 3 . . . The jump ball begins when the ball leaves the referee's hand(s) and ends when the touched ball contacts a nonjumper, the floor, a basket or backboard.
The jump ball ends the very instant the dribbler contacts the tapped ball, does it not? Then following through with a batting or slapping motion becomes part of the next play?