Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Chuck's point was that the rules do NOT allow you call a contact dead-ball technical foul unless the contact IS flagrant or intentional.
NFHS rule 4-19-5(c)- "A technical foul is an intentional or flagrant contact foul while the ball is dead".
Your supervisor/assignor/commisioner doesn't know the rules either.
|
My boss and I might not always see eye-to-eye on his assignment decisions but he definitely knows the rules. I said he agreed with the way I handled it, I didn't say anything about him saying I followed the letter of the rulebook. I wouldn't take the "T" back. A1's coach gave nothing more than a half-hearted objection about his player not hearing the whistle and the rest of the game was played lot cleaner than it was prior to the technical.
Within the confines of this forum I can admit that I didn't think the contact was intentional, but you can be sure if I had been questioned on the court directly, some sort of paraphrasing of rule 4-19-5 would have spilled from my mouth.