Thread: gps-4
View Single Post
  #66 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 23, 2001, 11:35pm
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,141
Quote:
Originally posted by crew
j.r.
the nc2a camps that i have attended, the clinicians(high ranking nc2a officials) have stated that this is good practice.
1. see the defender and locate where his feet are
2. see the play(start, middle, end) and let it develop.
3. judgement-if the defender is under the basket. no call or block. they also inform us to observe the outcome of the play.
a. is this a train wreck and the offensive misses the shot? yes-foul.
b. does the offensive player miss the shot? yes-foul.
c. does the offensive player make the shot? yes-pass on it.
d. is it a train wreck and the defender makes the shot? yes-foul.

yes, this is taught at nc2a camps.

Not withstanding Barb Jacob's riduculus inclusion of an NBA/WNBA interpretation in the NCAA Women's Rules. The NFHS and NCAA Men's Rules are quite clear. Any player is entitled to any spot on the court provided the player has legally secured that position. Therefore if B1 is standing under the basketball prior to A1 going airborne and A1 makes contact with B1 before returning to the floor then A1 is guilty of a charging foul under NFHS rules and maybe under NCAA Men's Rules.

NFHS: If A1 is an airborne shooter, then the foul is a player control foul even if the contact is after the ball has become dead. If A1 is an airborne player, the foul is a common foul (but is not a player control foul) as long as the contact occurs while the ball is live; if the ball is dead the contact is considered incidental unless the official judges it to be intentional or flagrant and in either case it would be a technical foul.

NCAA Men's: If A1 is in control of the ball when contact with B1 occurs, the foul is a player control foul by A1. If A1 is not in control of the ball and the ball is live when A1 makes contact with B1, the foul is a common foul (but is not a player control foul); if the ball is dead the contact is considered incidental unless the official judges it to be intentional or flagrant and in either case it would be a technical foul.

The real problem with this play (B1 is legally positioned under the basket), is that camp instructors and telling officials to either pass on the contact or call a blocking foul on B1. These instructors have absolutely no authority to tell officials to either disregard the rules of the game or to delibertely charge the wrong player with the foul. This nonsense has got to stop. It is absolutely disgusting that these instructors would tell officials to do such things.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote