| 
		
	
		
		
			
			 
				
				Backcourt opinions...
			 
			 
			
		
		
		
			
			Seventh grade girls. Team A is in their frontcourt. Team B intercepts a pass and throws it towards their frontcourt. Just before the ball gets to mid-court, Player A intercepts, takes 2 or 3 dribbles in traffic, then steps on the division line. I ruled it a backcourt violation, since I thought she had player control, and hence, team control. A few referees there with me at halftime didn't disagree, but they said they generally make sure the player really has control, before they would call that violation.  
 
I guess my question is: Did I jump the gun with the backcourt call? As a guideline, should I give the player a little latitude?
		 
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
	
	 |