Thread: gps-4
View Single Post
  #49 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 23, 2001, 01:49pm
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
[/B][/QUOTE]

you are correct.
how can a defensive player contest a shot standing under the rim. he can't. that is why it is taught not to call this a player control foul. it is no call or block. this is my opinion, you do not have to see it my way. [/B][/QUOTE]Nope,I certainly don't see it your way.
1)What does a defensive player contesting a shot have to do with anything?We're talking about a defensive player taking a charge.You know-establish legal position before the shooter leaves his feet?Is there any reason the defensive player can't just stand there?Please cite any NCAA or Fed rule to support your ridiculous statement.
2)It may be taught in the NBA,but it sure as hell ain't taught in the NCAA or Fed.
I really don't think you understand the basic concepts of block/charge.
Reply With Quote