View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 22, 2001, 02:10pm
BktBallRef BktBallRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
NF ruling but I don't think NCAA is any different.

No, not even close.

Let's look at the 5 correctable errors.

1- Failure to award a merited free throw? No.

2- Awarding an unmerited free throw? No.

3- Permitting a wrong player to attempt a free throw? No.

4- Attempting a free throw at the wrong basket? No.

5- Erroneously counting or canceling a score? No.

B1 was simply in the game because the table didn't notify the officials. Remove him and resume the game at the point of interruption.

2.11.5 SITUATION:
B1 commits his/her fifth foul, resulting in two free throws for A1. The official scorer fails to notify the game officials that a fifth foul has been committed. The scorer subsequently realizes the mistake and signals the officials after the first free-throw attempt. The referee then asks the table officials about the problem. The official is advised that B1 has five fouls. The referee notifies the Team B coach and then B1 that B1 has five fouls. The coach replaces B1. Is it a technical foul because B1 remained in the game?
Ruling: No. This is considered an inadvertent mistake for which Team B or B1 are not responsible.

Perhaps the official was using that new philosophy that we're hearing about so much these days.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote