Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
This is assuming that the defender never attained a legal guarding position.
|
Guys -- I'm a relative newbie, but I recognize that Jurassic Ref got the final word on this one.
You are all missing this important point. REF THE DEFENSE> REF THE DEFENSE> REF THE DEFENSE. Has the defender established and maintained legal guarding position? Then it's a no-call. Whether the shooter is out of control or not is irrelevant. The secret to the whole thing is legal guarding position. Look in the Fed rule books under "verticality". Did the defender go straight up and keep his hands and arms straight up? Then no-call. If he jumped at an angle and the contact was caused by the defender moving away from his LEGAL GUARDING POSITION, then it's a block whether he gets the shot blocked or not, and whether the hit happens before or after the blocked shot.
I'm talking FED rules here. If someone else is using a different set of rules, please say so in your post.