View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 31, 2006, 07:48pm
AtlUmpSteve AtlUmpSteve is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
So far as I know, there is no direct rules basis to protect a runner beyond the awarded and/or protected base as a result of the obstruction. And, that's what we have here; she passed her protected base (third). In NCAA, there is absolutely not a 2nd obstruction, because they still use the theory of a wreck whenever the defense is "doing her job". But, even if there were, it still occurred before third, and doesn't extend her protection.

What I suspect could hold water is using the universal "meet in spirit of sportsmanship" and "shall not impose a penalty which rewards the offending team" rule in every rule set. It is unreasonable to allow F6 to obstruct without truly protecting the offense against what we judge to be the result of the obstruction.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote