View Single Post
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 31, 2006, 05:23pm
midtnblu midtnblu is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 64
EDIT---PWL, this was supposed to go before yours...

but....a runner cannot return to a base to re-touch if he has already reached a succeeding base at the time the ball went dead... Fed 5.2.2.b & 8.2.5

And fed casebook 8.2.5 Sitch A
R1 on first, no outs, B2 hits long fly ball over head of F8. R1 thinks it will fall in for a hit and attempts to advance to third. However F8 makes the catch. F8 throws to first but the ball goes into DBT. R1, who is attempting to return to first base, is between second and third when the ball goes dead.

RULING : A runner may not return to a base that he left too soon on a caught fly ball if he was on or beyond a succeeding base when the ball became dead, or if he advances and touches a succeeding base after the ball went dead. Upon proper appeal, R1 shall be called out, If no proper appeal, is made by the defense, R1 will be awarded third base.


What confuses me is...and hopefully others....

If no appeal, why give him only third if he had reached second (legally or illegally) at TIME OF THROW.

It would make more sense if we had either OUT on appeal or HOME on award.

And what is the proper mechanic for denying a runner to return to a base after the ball has gone dead?

"Hey buddy, I know you left early but you can't go back now. I'm awarding you this base, but if they appeal, you're OUT."

Last edited by midtnblu; Fri Mar 31, 2006 at 05:31pm.
Reply With Quote