View Single Post
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 30, 2006, 02:19pm
mcrowder mcrowder is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by PWL
He get two bases from the time of the throw from his last LEGALLY obtained base. He had not LEGALLY obtained second. Therefore, the runner must return LEGALLY to tag first. Thus, his LEGAL base at the time of throw was first base.

I guess I should have said if the defense attempts a play before they appeal for that eagle eye of yours.
Instead of just saying this is flat wrong, I'll ask this:

R1 leaves first base just a hair early on a fly ball to DEEP RF. F9 throws to F8. After R1 rounds 2nd base, F8 uncorks the ball over the fence, A) over third base, or B) over 1st base. What do you award? Consider that at this point you may or may not know that the defense plans on appealing at first base.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote