View Single Post
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 30, 2006, 02:16pm
mcrowder mcrowder is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by Durham
R1 must retouch or he will be called out on appeal. Everone in the ball park sees him trying to get back to 1st in most cases. The award is 2 bases from TOT, first play by an out fielder. The award is 3rd base. I don't quiet understand the confusion.
I think the confusion is my fault, as there are two plays here.

If the runner was between 1st and 2nd when the OF threw the ball, as in the OP, the award is 3rd base. If the runner was on 2nd or between 2nd and 3rd when the OF threw the ball, as in my corollary, the award is home. In either case, the runner can retouch any bases left early or missed bases, but we are not to do anything to tip anyone off that there was a base that needs to be retouched.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote