View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 29, 2006, 09:47am
Skahtboi Skahtboi is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,387
Quote:
Originally Posted by benbret
After looking at the pitching digram it does not say where the swing foot must land. I have always been told that the NF will put a rule in the book if they want something illegal. If it is not in the book then it is not illegal. I can not find where it says that the non pviot foot must land within the 24" plate. The rule is very clear that the pivot foot must stay in the 24" plate. I would think that if they wanted the non pivot foot to stay in the 24" plate they would have made it just as clear.
Read 6:1:2:b:Note. It states:

Towards is interpreted as within or partially within the 24 inch length of the pitcher's plate.

This is in reference to the forward step, which is taken with the non-pivot foot. Clearly, the umpire who ruled this was correct.
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote