Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim C
Bob:
6.2.4 Situation C:
Play:
With r1 on third and r2 on first, F1 comes set. He then feints toward third, or he removes one hand from the ball and makes an arm motion towards third but does not step towards third. He then follows with a throw to first base.
Now that is about a step and a simple feint. Steve's reference was about disengagement with a step backward as the only way to legally disengage.
Ruling: This is a balk. F1 must step toward third base when feinting there. F1 may not feint to first base. He must step toward the base and throw. He might, while on the plate, step towards occupied third and feint a throw, and then step toward first and throw there with or without disengaging the pitcher's plate. If F1 steps and feints to first, he must disengage the pitcher's plate or he is guilty of a balk.
This says not nearly as much as the 2005 ruling. This is so poorly written that it "appears" to back the balk call yet I have NEVER heard of an umpire in a NFHS game call a balk on the 3rd to first move when there was no throw to first base.
|
The last tow sentences of teh ruling are relevant to the play being discussed. My quick reading seems to indicate that these two sentences are the same in each year's book.
It's not called because 99.9% of the time F1 comes off the rubber while stepping and feinting toward third.