View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 17, 2001, 11:53am
BktBallRef BktBallRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
#1- If B1 prevetns A1 from releasing the ball, it's a held ball.
#2- If A1 releases the ball and it's blocked, then he can legally catch the ball while airborne or after returning to the floor.
#3- If A1 releases simply because he thinks it will be blocked and catches the ball while airborne or after returning to the floor, it's traveling.

It sounds to me like you had #3. Traveling.

4.43.3 SITUATION A:
A1 jumps to try for goal. B1 also jumps and: (a) slaps the ball out of A1's hands; or (b) touches the ball but does not prevent A1 from releasing the ball; or (c) touches the ball and A1 returns to the floor holding the ball; or (d) touches the ball and A1 drops it to the floor and touches it first after it bounces.
Ruling: In (a) and (b), the ball remains live. In (c), a traveling violation. In (d), a violation for starting a dribble with the pivot foot off the floor. Since the touching did not prevent the pass or try in (b), (c) and (d), the ball remains live and subsequent action is covered by rules which apply to the situation.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote