Thread: Rules Queston
View Single Post
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 25, 2006, 05:42am
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by socalreff
Nevadaref: This is not the situation being discussed. Try page BR-112, article 1. Don't be so quick to judge. I am talking about a player NOT leaving the court voluntarily. Read the case A.R.1 thoroughly and see what you think it says. It delineates between last to touch and then returning to the floor and last to possess and then returning to the floor.
Man, you lost me on this one. I'm not trying to be rude here, but I truly don't understand what you see in that AR. I'm posting the ENTIRE page 112 from the NCAA rules book in an attempt to clarify this situation:




RULE 7



Out of Bounds and
the Throw-in




Section 1. Out of Bounds—Player, Ball






Art. 1.



A player shall be out of bounds when he or she touches the floor or any object other than a player on or outside a boundary line. An airborne player’s status shall be where he or she was last in contact with the floor.




A.R. 1.




A1 blocks a pass near the end line. The ball falls to the floor in bounds but A1, who is off balance, falls outside the end line. A1 returns, secures control of the ball, and dribbles.



RULING: Legal. A1 has not left the playing court voluntarily and was not in control of the ball when leaving the playing court. This situation is similar to one in which A1 makes a try from under the basket and momentum carries A1 off the playing court. The try is unsuccessful, and A1 comes onto the playing court and regains control of the ball.





Art. 2.




The ball shall be out of bounds when it touches a player who is out of bounds; any other person, the floor, or any object on or outside a boundary; the supports or back of the backboard; or the ceiling, overhead equipment or supports.




A.R. 2.




The ball rebounds from the edge of the backboard and across a boundary line. Before the ball touches the floor or any obstruction out of bounds, it is caught by a player who is in bounds.







RULING: The ball is in bounds.






A.R. 3.




The ball touches or rolls along the edge of the backboard without touching the supports.



RULING: The ball shall be live unless ground rules to the contrary have been mutually agreed upon before the game.




A.R. 4.




A throw-in by A1 strikes B1 who is in bounds, rebounds from B1 directly into the air, then strikes A1 who is still out of bounds.



RULING: A1 shall be considered to have caused the ball to go out of bounds. The ball shall be awarded to Team B at a designated spot nearest to where the violation occurred.




Art. 3.




The ball shall be out of bounds when it passes over the backboard from any direction.




Section 2. Ball Caused to Go Out of Bounds






Art. 1.




The ball shall be caused to go out of bounds by the last player to



BR-112





To me AR 1 simply demonstrates that a player CAN be the last to touch the ball, leave the court (through momentum), then return and legally be the first to touch the ball. Whether the player blocked the pass or instead intercepted it by catching the ball has no bearing on the legality of the play. As long as he was not touching the ball when he fell out of bounds, he may legally return to the court and be the first to get the ball. That is what this AR is saying.

Furthermore, the ruling uses an example of a player trying for goal, leaving the floor due to momentum, and then returning to be the first player to touch the ball. In that play, the player certainly was the last to possess the ball before leaving even though he did surrender both player and team control when trying for goal. This AR specifically says this action is legal.
Didn't you post above that this was illegal?

I truly don't know what you are talking about when you write, "last to possess and the first to touch. (illegal)"

Are you talking about a backcourt violation?






Last edited by Nevadaref; Sat Mar 25, 2006 at 05:54am.
Reply With Quote