Quote:
Originally Posted by GaryBarrentine
I attended a local ASA Umpire School, and what I was taught about this situation is as follows.
If the runner is out of the lane on the fair side of the line and get hit with a throw from F2 to F3, the BR is out due to interference.
If the runner is half in and half out of the lane (straddling the line) and get hit with a throw from F2 to F3 on the half of the body that is in fair territory, the BR is out due to interference. If hit on the half of the body in the lane, it is no call.
If the runner is in the lane or out of the lane in foul territory get hit with a throw from F2 to F3, it is no call.
Have I been taught the correct way to apply this rule?
GaryB
|
People need to remember that when teaching folks, many statements are made to simplify the process. I.e., awarding of bases on an overthrow/blocked ball. The rule does not state the award is governed by the last base touched, yet that is the way it is taught, even in the POE.
You were taught correctly except for the foul territory thing as a generic statement.