View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 19, 2006, 10:40pm
AtlUmpSteve AtlUmpSteve is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
ASA Rule 8 Section 2.M.5 - "On an errant throw pulling the defense off the base into foul ground, the defense and the B-R can use either the white or colored portion."
Reread this. It doesn't say an errant throw pulling the defense to the orange bag, it says to foul ground. The rule is NOT intended to reward the defense for a bad throw, by making first base bigger. It does mean to retain the safety feature, by allowing a fielder drawn into foul territory to return to the closer bag, and not require crossing paths with the runner.
Reply With Quote