View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 19, 2006, 03:41pm
IRISHMAFIA IRISHMAFIA is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally posted by fastpitch
#1 more specifically then - throw is high, 1B jumps in air trying to reach the ERRANT throw and lands on the colored base - rule simply states drawn to - there is no clarification as to what constitutes an errant throw.
Well, I got my interpretation from Henry Pollard two years ago. Haven't been told differently and it makes sense (well, as much sense as there can be with a double base). Going "up" for a ball isn't a ball drawing the fielder into foul ground, but over the base actually placing the fielder in the path of the BR. Being drawn into "foul territory" means off the base and would require the fielder to come back to the base.

This interpretation is supported by the 2005-06 Casebook plays 8.2.40 & 8.2.41.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote