View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 19, 2006, 03:20pm
IRISHMAFIA IRISHMAFIA is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally posted by chuck chopper
# 1 legal, it was the result of an "errant" throw.
#2 not legal, it was a bunt.
Personally I don't like the ASA allowing the colored portion to be used by a fielder- EVER. I umpire about 20 different Rec Councils programs, all age brackets. NONE of them want the ASA version of the double bag use. They all want the "cut & dry" version..ie Runner uses the orange, fielder uses the white. If A bad throw causes the fielder to land on the orange side, or causes the fielder to come back to the orange side,,they should have to tag the batter/runner and give up the attempt to reach the white portion. Only however if the batter-runner is in that area.
Its still a grey area situation I am suggesting
#1. That is not an errant throw. An errant throw is a ball the fielder cannot catch and maintain contact with the bag. If the fielder simply shifted to the colored portion of the bag, and caught the ball, the BR is safe unless the fielder also touched the white portion or tagged the BR prior to reaching either base.

#2. Being a bunt is irrelevant. F3 did not put the BR out, so the call is safe. Since the play was killed, not appeal may be accepted until the runner has the opportunity to return to 1B.

If NONE of them want it, that means they either don't understand it or are dumb as dirt. Of course, the umpires may be calling it wrong which may confuse the issue more. The so-called "cut & dry" version wouldn't be any safer than the present rule.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote