View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 19, 2006, 10:45am
chuck chopper chuck chopper is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Baltimore, Maryland
Posts: 414
# 1 legal, it was the result of an "errant" throw.
#2 not legal, it was a bunt.
Personally I don't like the ASA allowing the colored portion to be used by a fielder- EVER. I umpire about 20 different Rec Councils programs, all age brackets. NONE of them want the ASA version of the double bag use. They all want the "cut & dry" version..ie Runner uses the orange, fielder uses the white. If A bad throw causes the fielder to land on the orange side, or causes the fielder to come back to the orange side,,they should have to tag the batter/runner and give up the attempt to reach the white portion. Only however if the batter-runner is in that area.
Its still a grey area situation I am suggesting
Reply With Quote