View Single Post
  #57 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 14, 2006, 08:59pm
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally posted by WooPigSooie
Since there has been some discussion about this, I need to ask a question.... Regarding the rule of a blocking foul to be called if the defender has a foot on the OOB line. What if the offensive player lowers the shoulder and makes contact with the player OOB. Which takes precedent? Do you have a PC foul or a block?
This rule simply states that a player who is OOB can't have LGP. It doesn't say they can't be fouled. If the foul doesn't depend on LGP, you can still have an offensive foul.

The case book gives an example of a player, in the process of guarding another player, steps on the line and is contacted while the foot is OOB. It is a block since the contact occured while the defender didn't have LGP at the time of contact and needed to have it (defender was actively guarding/moving) in order for it to be a charge.

Also, don't be confused by the lowering of the shoulder. It's ALL about LGP. If the defender is moving toward the dribbler and is not in a LGP it can be his foul even if the offensive player lowers his shoulder. The offensive player is not reqired to collide with the defender in any specific orientation in order to draw a foul. Howveer, the lowering of the shoulder is a clue to who caused the contact if the defender is legal.





[Edited by Camron Rust on Mar 14th, 2006 at 09:12 PM]
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote