View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 01, 2006, 10:14am
IREFU2 IREFU2 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,673
Send a message via MSN to IREFU2 Send a message via Yahoo to IREFU2
Quote:
Originally posted by jritchie
couple of us here at work are talking about a couple plays..
no books available at the moment..

1)throw in under basket, ball is thrown towards basket and hits the backboard before touching anyone! (Bottom or side) Legal or not?? Rule reference please!

2)player A1, throws ball in to A2, A1 comes of screen from out of bounds and gets a return pass....player A1 only had one foot down in bounds and the other foot has not touched in bounds yet, but is in the air when the pass came back to him..is he considered in bounds or does he have to have both feet down in bounds before he can get the return pass??? rule reference please!!


Thanks
SECTION 2 THROW-IN PROVISIONS

ART. 7 . . . The thrown ball shall not enter the basket before it touches or is touched by another player.
ART. 8 . . . The thrown ball shall not become lodged between the backboard and ring or come to rest on the flange before it touches or is touched by another player.

If you look at Art 8, this would tell you. But if the ball is trown in and hits the back side of the backboard, then it is OOB. Rule 7, Art 2c tells you that the back of the backboard is out of bounds. If it hits the front side of the backboard, it has to be touched by someone else, other than the one who threw it in.

As far as your second question,
SECTION 42 THROW-IN, THROWER, DESIGNATED SPOT
ART. 1 . . . The thrower is the player who attempts to make a throw-in.
ART. 2 . . . A throw-in is a method of putting the ball in play from out of bounds.
ART. 3 . . . The throw-in and the throw-in count begin when the ball is at the disposal of a player of the team entitled to it.
ART. 4 . . . The throw-in count ends when the ball is released by the thrower so the passed ball goes directly into the court.

ART. 5 . . . The throw-in ends when the passed ball touches, or is touched by, an inbounds player other than the thrower.
ART. 6 . . . The designated throw-in spot is 3 feet wide with no depth limitation and is established by the official prior to putting the ball at the thrower's disposal.

I cant find the specific rule, but the player must have established inbound status. If he jumps from out of bounds and catches the ball, his status is from where he came from last. If one foot is on the floor, then he has established inbound status.



__________________
Score the Basket!!!!
Reply With Quote