View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 01, 2006, 09:57am
ChuckElias ChuckElias is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by BayStateRef
Quote:
(From the orignal Associated Press story)
Having six players on the floor is an officials' mistake, but not a correctable one.
Maybe I missed this page in the Rule Book, but I thought the mistake was the team's. I know all about preventative officiating, but this is not an "officials' error" in my book.
I've said this before, so forgive me for repeating myself. It is not the officials' fault that there are six players on the court. But it most definitely is the officials' fault for allowing the team to play with six players on the court.

Not counting 5 and 5 is definitely an "officials' error".
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote