Quote:
Originally posted by BayStateRef
Quote:
(From the orignal Associated Press story)
Having six players on the floor is an officials' mistake, but not a correctable one.
|
Maybe I missed this page in the Rule Book, but I thought the mistake was the team's. I know all about preventative officiating, but this is not an "officials' error" in my book.
I don't officiate NCAA, but my Fed Rule Book (10-1-6) certainly says this is a Team Technical -- not an offical's error. [/B]
|
It's an indirect "T" under NCAA rules, and the ball goes back to the POI after the FT's.
You pulled the wrong sentence out of the statement. The officials weren't disciplined for starting play with 6 players on the floor. The "T" issued for that was ustifiable by rule. They were disciplined for then screwing up part of the penalty part of the "T" by nullifying the basket that was scored before they called the "T". Iow, as said in the release, they were penalized for a "misapplication of the rule".
"Removing the two points scored by Eastern Washington was a misapplication of the rule, the league said". was the reason for the suspensions.
[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Mar 1st, 2006 at 08:37 AM]