View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 28, 2006, 02:11pm
IRISHMAFIA IRISHMAFIA is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally posted by mcrowder
I guess I'm having problems with this assumption that a caught ball is not foul. Why not. It doesn't say that in the rules. A caught ball can be caught fair, or caught foul. Why is there an assumption here by you two that once it's caught it's no longer foul? It IS foul... it's just not dead.
ASA
Rule 1 Foul Ball A
Rule 7.4.E/F
EFFECT: Section 4E-K The ball is dead and each runner must return to their base without liability to be put out.

By rule, it isn't possible to have a "live" foul ball.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote