Quote:
Originally posted by mcrowder
Uh, Mike... who even said a single word about baseball?
|
The OP.
Quote:
Originally posted by mcrowder
My biggest problem with this question is that there is way way too much left open to assume.
|
Actually, it is a pretty straight-forward rules question, in my view.
Quote:
Originally posted by mcrowder
You must assume the ball was caught,
|
Why?
Quote:
Originally posted by mcrowder
There's no mention about whether umpire called/ruled IFF, which is important to the question.
|
Why?
Quote:
Originally posted by mcrowder
Heck, it doesn't even say whether the ball was fair or foul, which COULD matter.
|
How?
If we set aside the presumption that the correct call by rule is unfair, the question itself is, as I said above, pretty straightforward.
The BR collides with a fielder in the act of fielding a batted fly ball that has double play written all over it. Was it double play because it was an IF and runners had left their bases? Probably, but does it matter to the call? The rule is 8-2-F. 8-7-J or -P might also be applied.
As to the concern about unfair, IF the ball was caught and then knocked loose, then R1 does not score on proper appeal, but the umpire should be clear that he is ruling a catch, so the defense knows what the call is.