View Single Post
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 23, 2006, 10:43pm
Oz Referee Oz Referee is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Tweed Heads, NSW, Australia
Posts: 559
Again, this is an issue that doesn't arise in FIBA rules.

Article 18.3.1 states that:
"Only a coach or assistant coach has the right to request a charged time-out. He shall establish visual contact with the scorekeeper or he shall go to the scorer’s table and ask clearly for a time-out, making the proper conventional sign with his hands."

So if a coach requests a time-out and they have no time outs left, the scorebench should inform them of this. Unlike NCAA/NFHS a coach can't "buy" a time-out with a technical foul.
__________________
Duane Galle
P.s. I'm a FIBA referee - so all my posts are metric

Visit www.geocities.com/oz_referee
Reply With Quote