View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 22, 2006, 04:12pm
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally posted by bdub712
Under NFHS basketball rules:

Player A has the ball, gets fouled by player B and puts team A in the bonus, but before the foul can be reported, player A retaliates and is whacked with a T.

A) Do we shoot the 1-1 w/ an empty lane and then the tech?
B) Do we go right to the tech, then the 1-1?

I have seen both scenarios played out this year???
A) is correct for NFHS.
B) is the normal method for NCAA. (The exception is for NCAA Mens dead ball intentional contact T [which this play is], so Team B would get the ball too. In this particular sitch, I believe that all FTs would be administered with the lane cleared.)

That is probably where the confusion comes from.



[Edited by Nevadaref on Feb 22nd, 2006 at 04:15 PM]
Reply With Quote