Quote:
	
	
		
			
				A.R. 4. (Men) A1 drives to the basket and (a) the referee calls a player-control foul and 
an umpire calls a block or; (b) the referee calls a charge and an umpire calls a block. 
RULING: This is uncharacteristic of a double personal foul where one official adjudicates 
the obviously committed fouls against two opponents. In (a) and (b) the two officials 
disagree that the fouls occurred simultaneously. In (a) the alternating-possession 
arrow shall be used and the ball shall be awarded at a designated spot nearest to 
where the foul occurred. When the ball is awarded to either Team A or Team B, there 
shall be a reset of the shot clock. To award the ball to Team A with the expired time 
instead of using the alternating-possession arrow would be unfair, since one of the 
fouls in question may have been committed when A1 was in control of the ball. In (b) 
although the two officials disagree as to whether there was a charge or a block, the 
ball was released by A1 and the goal shall count. During a try in flight there is no team 
control. The alternating-possession arrow shall be used and the ball shall be awarded at a designated spot nearest to where the foul occurred. Since there is no team control, 
there shall be a reset of the shot clock when the ball is awarded to either Team A or 
Team B.
			
		 | 
	
	
 Yes, very poorly worded but I believe the first sentence gives the rationale for handlng a blarge differently from "normal" double fouls.