Thread: Blarge
View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 22, 2006, 09:14am
ChuckElias ChuckElias is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
It is a double personal foul, yes. And if the shot was released before the contact, it counts if it goes in.

The reference is AR 4 on page 107 of the NCAA rulebook. The case is very poorly written, however. In neither (a) nor (b), is it stated whether the try has been released at the time of the contact. The ruling says that the goal counts in (b), so we have to assume that it was released.

But what about (a)? If the try was NOT released, why are we going to the AP arrow? On a double foul, don't we give the ball back to the team in control? If the shot hasn't been released, then A1 is still in control. Shouldn't Team A get the ball with the unexpired time?
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote