Thread: CO Quiz
View Single Post
  #44 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 20, 2006, 10:21pm
IRISHMAFIA IRISHMAFIA is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Al, because as Steve mentions, a catcher can step in front of a batter with touching him/her and prevent the batter from hitting the ball.

Steve, I understand what you are saying, and I'm not sure I agree with the rule, but it is there as plain as day.

The point I'm trying to get across is the manner in which it is worded prevents the umpire from making a choice. This makes any other decision protestable.

Runner on 3B. Squares to home and is coming full tilt on the pitch. There is no doubt she is attempting to steal home or there is a squeeze play. LH hitter loses control of the bat out after hitting the catcher's glove, but contacts the ball and pushes toward F6. The SS cleanly fields the ball and retires the BR at 1B as R1 scores.

Now any option is detrimental to the offended team. Result of the play is R1 scores and the BR is out. The enforcement of the CO is BR awarded 1B and R1 returns to 3B. 10.1.L only states that the umpire is not to enforce a penalty for a rules infraction which would be an advantage to the offending team. It does not state the umpire can apply another rule because they didn't like the result of the initial call.

I consider the EFFECT of 8.1.D.4 much like an INT call. An umpire does not allow everything to occur and then rerun every possible what-if scenario until you determine to apply what you believe is fair. It would be nice if we could, but we all know better.

I cannot perceive permitting, without opposition, the offense to acquire a run, place the BR on 1B and move any runner forced, being considered a penalty enforcement which benefits the offending team.

I will see if I can get Kevin or Craig to comment on this as it should apply or if the wording needs to be corrected.

BTW, from the 2005 ASA Umpire Clinic Guide:

SQUEEZE PLAY (Fast Pitch Only)(Rule 8, Section 1 D-4)
In Fast Pitch when the catchers obstructs a batter during an attempted squeeze play or steal of home, BOTH catcher obstruction and an illegal pitch shall be called. The ball is DEAD, the batter is awarded first base and the third base runner advanced to home plate.

Emphasis is ASA's, not mine.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote