View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 14, 2006, 07:36pm
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally posted by lookin2improve
A1 fouls B1, it is A1's 5th foul. Coach 'looses it' (not that he ever had it... and receives a T. Does the Coach still have 30 sec for a replacement?

Yes, still give the coach his 30 sec replacement period.

Quote:
Originally posted by lookin2improve

Is there an instance where the freethrows can be administered before A1 is replaced??
Only if the officials screw up. You never continue further action in a game when you are aware that a player has committed a disqualifying foul. Get a replacement immediately then continue.

If you do mess this up and allow FTs prior to the replacement. The FTs still count.


2004-05 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations
SITUATION 3: A1 is fouled by B2 and is awarded two free throws. The foul is B2’s fifth foul. The new trail official reports the fifth foul to Team B’s coach. Before a substitute is made, the lead official incorrectly permits A1 to attempt the first free throw. The officials realize the error and huddle to discuss the situation. RULING: The result of the first attempt shall stand. Team B’s head coach shall be notified of B2’s disqualification. Once B2 has been replaced, A1 shall attempt the second free throw. COMMENT: This is an official’s error and not a correctable-error situation according to Rule 2-10. (2-8-3, 4-14-1, 6-1-2c, 10-5-1d)
Reply With Quote