Thread: Possesion
View Single Post
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 14, 2006, 11:33am
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally posted by IREFU2
I was trying to figure out why my statement wasnt correct.
Your statement "there is no TC on a throw-in" is correct.

But, in the play presented, there was PC, and thus TC, when A1 caught the ball. A1 needn't be "on the ground" to establish PC.

If we look at the four rules:

1) A has TC -- yes, when A1 catches the ball (note -- I didn't go back to see which specific number was the inbounder and which specific number caught the ball)

2) Ball in FC -- yes, since A1 left the court from the FC

3) A last to touch -- yes

4) A first to touch -- yes

So, as Chuck said, we would have a violation, except for the three exceptions in the rule -- throw-in, defense, jump ball.

Reply With Quote