View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 14, 2006, 01:51am
RookieDude RookieDude is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,856
Quote:
Originally posted by assignmentmaker
BktBallRef, I believe the language of 9-9-1 doesn't make clear whether it means
'ball location' or 'player location'.

You presented this situation:

"Team A has the ball in their FC. Ball is knocked loose, A1 saves the
ball from going OOB, flips it over her head, where it bounces once in the
BC. A2, standing in the FC, reaches over and retrieves the ball."


I agree with you about what the call should be. No violation. I just don't think that's what
the current rule mandates.

I have simplified the situation, removing elements which I believe we both agree
on and which don't impact the situation under consideration.

Team A's players are passing the ball amongst themselves in the
frontcourt. An errant pass hits A1, who is near midcourt, on the head. The
ball bounces in the backcourt. A1 turns and, while standing in the
frontcourt, catches the ball in the air.


Rule 9-9-1 says "A player shall not be the first to touch a ball after it
has been in team control in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last
touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went into the
backcourt."

For clarity, I'm going to modify the language and grammar of 9-9-1 without changing
the content of the rule:

1. Place the temporal constraint first and replace the pronoun with its
referent. 9-9-1 then reads:

"After the ball has been in team control in the frontcourt, a player shall
not be the first to touch a ball, if he/she or a teammate last touched or
was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went into the
backcourt."


2. Remove from the 'if' clause those elements that have no application to
the situation under consideration and replace the pronoun with its referent.
9-9-1 then reads:

"After the ball has been in team control in the frontcourt, a player shall
not be the first to touch a ball, if she last touched the ball in the
frontcourt before the ball went into the backcourt."


Apply the rule:

1. Was the ball in Team A's control in the frontcourt? Yes.

2. Was A1 last to touch "the ball in the frontcourt"? Yes.

3. Had the ball gone into the backcourt before A1 touched it a second,
consecutive time? Yes.

Thus, under 9-9-1, it is a backcourt violation.

I believe you're reading the rule as though it said:

"A player:

1) whose team has control of a ball that has been in the front court, and
2) who has backcourt location

shall not be the first to touch a ball if he/she or a teammate having
frontcourt location last touched or was touched by the ball."


I think that's what it should say . . .

Sic Transiit Gloria Monday
...not to speak for BBR...but, I think he was saying his partner missed the call by no-calling it.
__________________
Dan Ivey
Tri-City Sports Officials Asso. (TCSOA)
Member since 1989
Richland, WA
Reply With Quote