View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 13, 2006, 02:08am
Adam's Avatar
Adam Adam is offline
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.

Sure the rules are specific. Just ask yourself the following question: What constitutes a legal throw-in? The answer is: The thrower must pass the ball such that it crosses the plane of the boundary line and touches a player on the court that is touching either inbounds or out-of-bounds. If A1 inbounds pass does not cross the plane of the boundary line so that it touches a player on the court that is touching either inbounds or out-of-bounds, A1 has committed a throw-in violation.

Lets go even further: A1 has the ball for a throw-in on the endline to his right of Team B's basket after a score by Team B. A2 is standing inbounds in the corner of Team A's backcourt that is to the left of Team B's basket. A1 passes the ball to A2 but the ball never crosses the vertical plane of the endline and touches out-of-bounds past the sideline extended. Has A1 committed a throw-in violation? Of course he has.

MTD, Sr.

[Edited by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. on Feb 13th, 2006 at 02:02 AM]
Mark,
Two questions. Are you saying it's a violation as soon as the ball crosses the extended sidelines? If this is the case, then you would never wait until the throwin is made, because the violation occurs before the offense can even retrieve the ball.

The second question is more of a scenario. A1 has the ball for an end-line throwin. He throws the ball down the endline, in the air, where A2 (standing in bounds) reaches across the endline and catches the ball. Is this a throwin violation?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote